Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Inserting myself: HOW not to look fake?

Old 10-11-2003, 05:33 PM
Inserting myself: HOW not to look fake?

Hello All,

I'm new in this restoration, retouching and manipulation thing and i'm struggling with some techniques ...
I would like to put myself in a situation (picture) that i'm not originally in. Attached is my best shot and it's not good enough ...
Any suggestions to make myself more "into" the picture? I look like i've been put there (true!)...

Thanks ..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg attheparty.jpg (49.8 KB, 87 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-11-2003, 07:32 PM
Welcome to RetouchPro quarte!

One thing I notice right away is that your shadow does not match those of the other two people in the photo. The woman appears to have a slight shadow on the left side. Your shadow appears much larger and all the way around you. So, try to match the shadow.

On a similar note, you don't look quite as contrasty as the rest of the photo, so try upping the contrast on your image a bit to match the rest of the photo.

Reply With Quote top
Old 10-11-2003, 11:50 PM
Hey man. I don't think it looks too bad. The shadow is slightly off but not so you would notice it if you did not know. I think the problem is that the pose is a bit wooden for a candid shot which is what this looks like.

A subtle adjustment of exposure with levels or curves would do wonders. If the image of you is a different layer - check the levels of the background layer, and adjust the other layer to match.

Good luck
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-12-2003, 10:12 AM