RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

speckles, speckles and more speckler

Old 01-17-2004, 07:45 PM

Question speckles, speckles and more speckler

I am fairly new to this, so I've been given lots of photos from friends and relatives who 'hope I can make this look better'. Often the image is very speckled when I see it in photoshop. Other than the despeckle filter and the healing tool, (which gives only so-so results) I don't know of a way to remove the speckles. Can anyone suggest another (better) way? If it would help I could upload a sample. THANKS.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-17-2004, 10:00 PM

It is always best if you can upload a sample. But there are many posts in the help requested forum that will give you some clues as to different approaches to this type of problem.

Christine
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-18-2004, 01:07 PM

As Xaran said, a sample is very important. It could be general noise removal that is needed, not random speckles that need to be removed. Or it could be both. My guess is it's noise. And for this, Neat Image (which has a free version) would be the way to go. But let's see what you are talking about. Otherwise we are just speckle speculating.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-19-2004, 07:19 AM
Patron

Speckles

Well you can use the history brush to remove speckles. However what I usually do is to copy the layer and use the median blur filter until all of the speckles are gone. Than I switch layers. The top layer is the original layer and the bottom layer is the median filter layer. With the top layer selected I use a brush with varying opacity to carefully erase away the speckles.