Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Stained b&w photo-how to remove stains?

Old 03-31-2004, 01:15 PM
Question Stained b&w photo-how to remove stains?

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie posting first time. I am at the very beginning of learning to use photoshop -so far I've only learned using the clone stamp and some colour adjustments (of course I have toyed with all the tools, but haven't needed them yet ). I have only very preliminary grasp on layers (thanks to Jakaleena for excellent tutorials), so please explain your solutions step by step...
Here's the actual problem: attached is an old photo of my grandparents and their children. As you can see, there are quite a lot of cracks and stains. I have lots of pictures like this! Cracks and scratches I can somehow deal with (with a lot of cloning, painting and perspiration), but is there any other way to get rid of the nasty stains, especially on granny's blouse and on one of the children's face? I scanned the picture in RGB, and to my not-pro eyes the stains seemed almost to disappear in the red channel. How can this be used? I'm using PS6.

Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg grandparents.jpg (95.2 KB, 204 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2004, 03:19 PM
There is a good tutorial written by a guy from Adobe that deals with that exact issue

- Noel
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2004, 03:26 PM
Hello, Terhi, and welcome. You've found the right place to get some good advice for this sort of thing.

Since you're new at Photoshop, I've got a couple suggestions: