Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Help with an old photo

Old 04-15-2004, 09:16 AM
Question Help with an old photo

Hi everyone. My name is Bonnie and I joined about 2 weeks ago. I have been working with Photoshop for about 6 months. I have Katrin Eismann's book on Photoshop Restoration and Retouching but it seems like I have learned so much more from everyone here since I've been a member than from her book. It is so nice to find a forum where everyone is willing to share their knowledge with everyone else.

I have been working on some old family photographs and I keep running into this "greenish" color on them. I've been cutting out sections and working on them on a separate layer to get rid of the green or using the dodge tool...depending on how much of it there was. As you can see from the photo his jacket is covered with it and even some of the background. On other photographs it is the edges of leaves or someone's face, legs or arms. I was wondering if anyone here has ran across this same problem and what you do to correct it.

Thanks for any help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TC.jpg (77.4 KB, 57 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-15-2004, 09:21 AM
I'm don't know why, but I'm not seeing the green you're talking about, is it a color cast or spot, blotches?
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-15-2004, 09:49 AM
I don't know why it isn't showing the green. It looks like an olive green coating on the jacket, tie, pants and a bit behind the chair in the background.

I did a save as jpg then uploaded here. I was looking in Photoshop and saw save for the web so I clicked on that and it shows up there exactly like it does here. All in black and white. Is there something different I need to do when I save it?
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-15-2004, 09:57 AM