RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Need help getting rid of noise/graininess

Old 07-12-2004, 08:16 PM

Hello everyone.
I'm new to the retouching game and in need of some help. I've scaned some prints that were originally about 3x2 and enlarging them. With the enlargement I notice a lot of what looks like noise/pixelation/graininess. I've removed all the dust specs and such and now would just like to smooth it out. I've seen some tips for this using blur and noise filters in PS, but I can't seem to get it quite right. Any filter I apply seem to make it lose too much detail. I would really appreciate any help. I'm using PS7 and I've attached a small image of one I'm having the most trouble with.
Thanks much in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg noise.jpg (22.7 KB, 79 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-12-2004, 10:05 PM

Hi redmaccat,

What dpi did you scan at? You'll get the best results, particularly if you intend to retouch a photo, if you scan at at least 300 dpi at the intended printed size.

A 3x2 photo scanned at 300dpi will print a 3x2.
A 3x2 photo scanned at 600dpi will print a 6x4.

Add retouching to the equation and increased resolution might be an assist in getting the best results.

I took a look at your attachment and it does have a lot of artifacts which, if given the increased resolution, could be managed to provide a better result.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-12-2004, 11:33 PM

thank you thank you thank you, freelancer

I have struggled with that question of what to acan at. You have just given me the simplest and best explanation. THANK YOU!!!!!!
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-13-2004, 01:56 AM