Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Yellow faded blown-out image

Old 07-28-2004, 12:01 PM
Yellow faded blown-out image

I am new to this web site. A friend of mine asked if I could improve upon this image. I have begun to play with it, but I am open for any suggestions. Thanks. Greg.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-28-2004, 02:57 PM
Hi Gregory, have done a quick job on your image. What I did is as follows.

1. Create levels adjustment layer, and adjust R,G and B channels seperately to rough colour correct image.

2. Place eyedropper on Highlight area and colour correct highlights using colour balance layer.

3. Do same for Midtones.

4. Do same for Shadows.

5. Create New Layer set blend mode to Soft Light, fill with 50% grey, then paint in darkness in central area with black paintbrush set to 5%.

A bit crude, but it gives you a starting point for further refinement.

Hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bridgetcroppedres.jpg (86.9 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-28-2004, 05:24 PM

Can you post a larger image? You can post up to 100K. This one is too small to work on.

Reply With Quote top
Old 07-28-2004, 10:50 PM
Hi Greg

I agree. A bigger pic is always easier to work on. Even with levels corrections, there still seems to be issues. Too much overall Cyan and skin tones seem to be way off. You'll probably have to do a fair amount of spot masking and correction.