Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

graduation photos not in focus

Old 07-31-2004, 07:44 PM
graduation photos not in focus

Hi. I'm trying to find out if it is even possible to fix some digital photos I took at my son's graduation. I used a digital camera and did not have it set up properly. Needless to say, I would really like to save this photos if possible. I just got PhotoShop 6.0, but I don't know how to use it yet. I'm new at digital photography (obviously), and since there are other graduation photos that are too fuzzy, I am willing to learn whatever I have to, or to buy different software. If these photos can't be fixed, I hope someone will just tell me so I can stop fussing over it. thanks

Jan G.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF0016 copy.jpg (84.3 KB, 90 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-31-2004, 09:50 PM
Well, nothing will ever make it perfect, but hopefully you'll get several helpful ideas here. There are many ways to approach this, here's mine:

1 Duplicate layer
2 Use High Pass filter (see attached)
3 Set High Pass layer blend mode to Hard Light
4 Duplicate HP layer twice more
5 Flatten and run Dust and Scratches to get rid of the white dots that form
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (92.7 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled-2.jpg (57.5 KB, 41 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-31-2004, 11:33 PM
Hi Jan,

if you're looking to get a sharp focussed picture from the photo you published, I'm afraid it's not going to happen. Some improvement is possible, but probably nothing that will make any real substantive difference.

I'll be happy to be proved wrong on this, but I don't think I will be unfortunately.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-01-2004, 03:48 PM
I played around with a few filters and this is about as good as I'm able to get it.