Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Need help with photo

Old 08-12-2004, 04:52 PM
Need help with photo

I have no idea where to begin fixing the attached photo. It is one of only a few that I have of my grandfather.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Torn Picture.jpg (99.9 KB, 109 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-12-2004, 07:03 PM
I gave your photo a go, but please remember I am fairly new to retouching. I am sure you will get some very good advice from people who have much more experience than I do.
Glad you posted it, I had fun trying different techniques.

I'm sorry, I meant to try to explain what I did. I duplicated your image and took the move tool, and using the arrow keys, I nudged it over a few pixels to help eleminate the pattern. Made it look blurred so I duplicated the background again,layed it on top of those layers and played with the different blend modes and opacity until I got something clearer. I can't remember all the steps, but I did flatten and kept overlaying the result. Then sharpened and cloned.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg retouch-proTorn-Picture-cop.jpg (97.8 KB, 74 views)

Last edited by mead; 08-12-2004 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-12-2004, 08:36 PM
Wow that's quite the texture to work with. I don't have time to work with the image now, but I did run it through Neat Image (they have a free demo program you might like to try). I set the mode to remove all noise and tweaked the settings to bring back some detail.

Steps to help you get started:

1. Remove texture. Some scanners have settings to help with this, and there are several plug-in programs out there. I used the free Neat Image demo. You can also experiment with PhotoShop's despeckle, median filter, dust & scratches or guassian blur filters.