RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Too Dark, Too Red

Old 12-19-2004, 09:20 PM

Too Dark, Too Red

Hi, I'm pretty new to photo editing and I'm really struggling with some recent pictures that I hoped would clean up nicer than they have. I think a big part of it is my hair--it messes with the other reds in the pictures. Even with the flash, both pictures are too dark, with too much red and all my efforts to lighten them end giving them that awful white, too light look, if you know what I mean. I'm sure there's a technical term for it that I don't know.

So I was hoping you could look at them and give me either some advice or maybe a hand. They are the originals right out of the camera.

thanks so much,
Sascha
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TargetXmas2004 011small.jpg (96.6 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF0103small.jpg (87.6 KB, 63 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-19-2004, 09:22 PM

yikes!

And after seeing my photos posted here, I'm wondering if maybe there's something wrong with the way photoshop is showing me stuff, because that's NOT the way the look when I'm trying to edit. I could be more clueless than I thought. Is that a possiblity?
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-20-2004, 07:29 AM

Sascha, while I am absolutely a dunce when it comes to color management, I have a suggestion on where to start.

Your picture has an embedded color profile of sRGB. As I understand it, the color profile just tells your program what to do with the digital color information (of course there is a good chance I'm wrong!) But at any rate, you need to make sure the color profile of your picture and the WORKING SPACE (which is how your program treats the color information) of your program match. So....