RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Gangstaz - Restore

Old 01-25-2005, 09:32 AM

Gangstaz - Restore

Had this one come in yesterday... looks like a fun project. Not a lot of detail left in the features... the original is a 1996 inkjet print from what was probably a low megapixel camera. The print is sepia and fading fast! Would like to work through this with some discussion on methods and postings...

I have a full JPG image file available

http://takeyourbestshot.com/Images/M...l_Original.jpg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Rachel_Small.jpg (98.9 KB, 58 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-27-2005, 06:52 PM

First Attempt

Hi JGeddes
This is my first attempt at this, still trying to work out the clone,patch tool,contrast among others things.
open image and select rectangular marquee tool, make a small selection where it as good contrast.
Then click on Create new fill or adjustment layer, Curves,Options click on Enhance monochromatic Contrast, click okay.
Select Brush and brush over remaining photo.

Cheers
Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sample1.jpg (98.8 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg sample2.jpg (98.8 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-29-2005, 01:40 AM

Hi,

Romany,

Great Job! .... Not an easy picture to work on ...

JGeddes,

You've said it all about the problems of this picture!!!!
I had a go at it .... not really happy with the result but here is what I did:
  • I duplicated the background Layer
  • I created a 'Luminosity Mask', copied it on its own Layer setting the Blending to Multiply (adjusted its Opacity) to balance the highlights/faded spots. (the action for creating a Luminosity Maks can be downloaded here).
  • Duplicated the Luminosity Mask Layer and set its blending to Overlay to increase the contrast.