RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

I need help removing chain

Old 02-11-2005, 10:36 PM

Hi, I'm new to the world of photo retouching. I'm trying to remove the blurred chainlink from this photo. I'm a beginner with photoshop. I am good with a computer. I tried to remove the chain with the clone stamp. That worked some what. I would think that there would be a way to remove the blurred chain and retain the information behind it. I have a few pictures like this, that I would love to clean up. Any help on how to and advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Andy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cat-1.jpg (65.2 KB, 79 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-12-2005, 04:08 AM

Hi apw63,

Welcome to RP!

I had a go at your picture.
I don't know which PS version you are using ... If it's PS7 or higher, you have the 'healing Brush' in your Tools Palette... That's what I started with...

Before you do anything on your picture, remember to never work on the original ... make a copy of it, rename it, and save the original in a safe place!!

In my working copy, I usually also always duplicate the background for the following reasons:

1) If I don't like the results of my corrections, I can quickly start from scratch..
2) I always have a quick comparison at a click of the mouse...

Working on the Background, I used the Healing Brush set to 'Replace' on the discolored spots.
To correct the discolorations on the 'cat', I created a Brightness&Contrast Adjustment Layer, decreased the brightness and increased the contrast ...(the whole picture looked weird at this point ...).

Inverted the AL Layer Mask from white to black and, with a soft white Brush (Opacity 30-100%) I carefully painted over the discolored parts, to reveal the corrections under the mask.