RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Image Extraction,

Old 02-16-2005, 06:56 PM

Exclamation Image Extraction,

Hello All,

I have been shooting digital for the past 3 years. I recently purchased a blue, and green chromokey muslin backgrounds. I have been taking some pratice shoots with some of my prefered models.

The main purpose of purchasing the chromakey backgrounds was so i can apply any background of my choice to the subject.

My problem: Ok, i am having problems extracting the subject from the background. I also seem to get some bleed through on the subject.

I have tried using the photoshop integrated extractor, and Extensis Mask 3 pro.

Bottom line is i am not getting the results i have seen elsewhere, or some other folks get.

So, i would like to know how everyone here does it. Tell me about the programs you use to do it with. Show me, teach me. I need help please.

I am sorry if this is a duplicate post.

Regards,

Alex...
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-16-2005, 07:15 PM

no doubt every response will be different

not counting those loose strands of hair which I never have mastered I like just using the eraser brush.

often a solid brush but in close. but once I have finished with that I like to feather it this way.
use the wand to select all the empty space.. then ... select/modify/expand.. the number of pixels depends on the size of the photo.. just enough so you see the "marching ants" move in a bit.... then ... select/feather... the same number of pixels ... then .. cut (ctrl/X)

you can achive the same thing with a soft eraser without the feathering but besides being time consuming it's not as uniform..

some people also just use a blur after expanding a few pixels.. maybe with a feather on that too..