Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

How to make a perfect selection of hair ?

Old 03-01-2005, 04:27 AM
Question How to make a perfect selection of hair ?

This is my first time here, I m writing you because I hope someone can help me: I don't know how to make a perfect selection of hair.

I have some photos and I'd like to change the backgrounds but I can't select the chance with the pen or lazo, somebody told me I shoud use a mask but I don't know how to do it for hair?
Does anybody know step by step how to make a perfect selection of hair?

Thank you so much
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (27.3 KB, 94 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-01-2005, 06:40 AM
In a situation like this the first place to look for a mask is in a channel. Sometimes one channel will offer a lot of seperation between the hair & background colours. On this occassion there is little tonal difference & sadly not much colour seperation either. Try a dupe of the red channel, Levels, drag the left (dark) slider in a little & move the mid & right sliders way over to the left - this should give you the best shot at a mask that can be refined with the paint (or any other) tools.

You can develop this trick by duping the image & converting to any other mode, such as CMYK, and grabbing a channel from that image to make a mask. Here you might even be lucky with the K channel, as the hair is quite dark & the back ground quite neutral, so may be lighter in the K. Incidentally, you can go even further if you're really keen/desperate: You can control the K channel generation.