Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

What color space?

Old 05-21-2005, 11:06 PM
What color space?

If I work in Adobe PS7 and print to my inkjet, should my color space be set to Adobe RGB (1998). Should ALL of my equipment (digital camera, printer, scanner, etc) be set to Adobe RGB? I'm shooting for more consistancy but have been confused by color managment and calibration issues.

Also, I can't figure out where to change my scanners color space(if I even need to). It's older, an Epson 1640 Photo. It wants to send me into OS 9 whenever I click on any one of its icons. However, I've been using it in OSX by importing into PS.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-22-2005, 05:12 AM
Smile Color Profiles

Well I am not an expert in profiling. The enclosed picture is out of the Photoshop manual. CS2 page 230. Each device has its own profile. And these profiles are made by the device manufacturer. I.e. scanner, monitor, photoshop, and printer. Each device has its own color gamut. Gamuts are the range of color values that the device can process. In photoshop it is recomended to use adobe RGB since that has a wide range of colors. i.e. a large color gamut. After working with picture in photoshop and sending the picture to the printer the printer's printing profile is used. In the dialog box in CS2 it says "let printer determine colors.

For the most accurate printing quality its important to calibrate your monitor, scanner, and printer. If you have your printer calibrated then in photoshop you have "let photoshop handle colors" and you would use the printer profile you established.