RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

E-mailing large files

Old 06-11-2005, 06:23 AM

E-mailing large files

Hi, I'm pretty new to all this and this is probably a pretty basic question. I'm looking at maybe getting fairly competent with photoshop and then possibly trying to get some freelance re-touching work. My problem is I live in a small seaside town with not much work for a re-toucher, can large digital files be e-mailed from a re-touching agency to a free-lancer and back again? is this practical? Any suggestions?

Benny.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-11-2005, 08:32 AM

Yes, you can email large files, but that's probably not how an agency would do it. FTP is more likely.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-12-2005, 02:41 AM

Thanks Vickie, FTP???
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-12-2005, 09:06 AM

I believe that stands for File Transfer Protocol, but you should Google it to learn how to use it.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-12-2005, 04:39 PM

If you don't want to use FTP the best way to email large files is via YouSendIt. You upload your file to their server then they send a message to the recipient with a link for them to download it. It can be quite slow to upload large files but it works well.

http://www.yousendit.com

Just another option
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-12-2005, 10:35 PM

Thanks, I'll look into it.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-29-2005, 02:52 PM

in general, and this does vary, so check around, most internet service providers (isp's) allow for file sizes up to 10 megabytes in email. or rather, they give you a space on their email servers that is 10 megabytes for your use. thus, if that server space is half full then a 10 megabyte file would be rejected.