RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

RAW conversion - Canon 10D - green skin

Old 03-05-2007, 04:56 AM

RAW conversion - Canon 10D - green skin

Hello,

If I try to open CRW files photographed using a Canon EOS 10D in Adobe Camera Raw or Capture One the skin tone in the shadows appear greenish. And currently I don't know how to achieve a pleasing skin tone without tweaking it in Photoshop. Because by comparison the JPEG using the same lighting looks very well!

Anyone there who have similar problems ?
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-05-2007, 09:40 AM

Re: RAW conversion - Canon 10D - green skin

What may be happening (mind you I am no expert on this), is that your settings (perhaps exposure and white balance) are off creating the green color cast.

Why do the JPEG files taken in the same lighting look fine but the RAW files have a colorcast?

RAW format simply saves the data recorded - the camera does nothing else to the image. In essence you have a raw "negative" of the shot you took. It is then up to you to process that "negative" in a RAW converter program or in a Photoshop.

JPEG on the other hand is pre-processed for you, color is determined by the camera, as is the tone, white balance, saturation and sharpness. Then the image is compressed throwing out information that the RAW file retains.
A couple of links that may help:
RAW vs. JPEG

RAW

Raw vs JPEG Photoshop Tutorial
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-05-2007, 09:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by helicopter
Hello,