RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

Color Calibration

Old 01-08-2008, 10:22 PM

Color Calibration

Hello, hello!

This is my first post so bare with me...i'm a color management newbie and i'm working with PH6. I'm very frustrated (albeit a little lazy) in figuring out why colors look a lot more saturated (very red) outside of photoshop i.e. in windows picture and fax viewer then they do in photoshop. Any suggestions on how to manually sync the two progs up would be great as well as any (cheap) ideas for calibrating my monitor.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-09-2008, 03:01 PM

Re: Color Calibration

I don't know how windows handles color managment in it's app's , but the picture viewer may throw out the profile. Another theory is that the photo's may have an adobe RGB profile and photoshop is converting it to srgb.

I would trust photoshop to be the correct version.

For a monitor calibrator I would recomend the Pantone eye-one display LT, I have used it and the software is easy to use and has plenty of options. There is also a cheaper Huey Pro, and a basic Huey that

Pantone/ GretagMcbeth Eye-One Display LT

Pantone Huey Pro

Pantone Huey

There's also another low cost one, colorvision Spyder, but I belive the heuy pro outperforms it so you may want to look at reviews for the those other one. Note, the calibration won't fox the problem of color differences in between apps, but it will give you correct color in photoshop (provided you monitor can physically reproduce it, it will be close to your print)

Last edited by AdamZx3; 01-09-2008 at 03:14 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-12-2008, 06:11 AM

Hi RWies21