RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

Color Calibrating Laptop Monitors?

Old 07-15-2008, 01:21 PM

Color Calibrating Laptop Monitors?

Greetings,
I just purchased a new HP Pavillion laptop with Vista, got it home, and hate the monitor display! Compared to my desktop monitor, the laptop monitor display is very blue and muddy.

I'm a VERY novice digital photographer and Photoshopper, still using Photoshop 7.01. But, the terrible display of my color photos is really bugging me.

I looked through the color management info. in the Windows help menu and on other forums, but it's way over my head.

Can anyone direct me to good, beginner level info. on how to warm up the color temperature etc? Or is it impossible.

Also, I can't afford calibration software right now...but free downloads would be good.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-15-2008, 02:00 PM

Re: Color Calibrating Laptop Monitors?

unless you have a hardware calibrator you'll have to use a site like this one:

http://photographerusa.com/screencheck/index.html
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-15-2008, 03:28 PM

Thank you!
By hardware, do you mean a device like Pantone Huey or Spyder Express?
I've been researching some more since my first post, and think I may have to break down and purchase one of these...

I've read a bunch of reviews comparing them, but they seem about 50/50.

Anyone have a preference?

Also, it looks like Huey won't calibrate printers too, but I can't tell if Spyder will...Printer calibration would be good, of course.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-15-2008, 03:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by raggatt View Post
Thank you!
By hardware, do you mean a device like Pantone Huey or Spyder Express?