RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

What scanner would you recommend

Old 08-15-2008, 11:22 AM

Newbie What scanner would you recommend

I am thinking about putting a scanner on my xmas list for this year and wanted to get some recommendations.

I need one that is relatively cheap. I'm not a pro so I don't need anything extravagant. What gives the most bang for the buck? My mother has a big box stuffed to the brim with old pics. I want to scan them before they start to deteriorate any more. The oldest of them is the mid-60's, but they are already fading.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-15-2008, 12:31 PM

Re: What scanner would you recommend

hi a lot of the name brands name are good... the canon, epson , hp , microtec, etc...

myself i always like hp..... gave me good quality scans and it was fast....
the only thing about it i didn't like is the software...

something you may want to think about..... and that is getting a scanner that also has a slide and film (negative) adapter.... your mom maybe also has slides and negatives...!! most slide/film adapters scanners ... only do 35 mm... if she has any oddball sizes that maybe another criteria to think about..

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmy1729 View Post
I am thinking about putting a scanner on my xmas list for this year and wanted to get some recommendations.

I need one that is relatively cheap. I'm not a pro so I don't need anything extravagant. What gives the most bang for the buck? My mother has a big box stuffed to the brim with old pics. I want to scan them before they start to deteriorate any more. The oldest of them is the mid-60's, but they are already fading.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-15-2008, 05:47 PM

Timmy,