RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

How to Print Family Photos of Differing Sizes

Old 04-08-2009, 09:50 PM

How to Print Family Photos of Differing Sizes

Hi! I'm new and appreciate reading the posts!

I am launching a project to scan in a multitude of old family photos. I had a friend do one album first and now I am going to do the remaining zillion boxes on my own. I'd appreciate any and all advice in general! I have these tools: Photoshop CS4 Extended, Lightroom 2, an old version of Elements, and an Epson V700 and a large external hard drive. If there are plug ins I should get, I'd love to know what will help! (I'm a hobbyist photographer but not very good with the tools yet at all. Nonetheless, I'm most suited in the family to take on the task!)

My BIG question is this, based on the results from the first photo album. Once you have photos of all ages and therefore sizes and shapes, which are not 4x6 ratio, it is difficult to print them on standard size paper because it will fit to the the long side and crop the rest of the photo. To me, the easiest way to share these photos with others, at least to start with, is to print them all as 4x6 photos at my local favorite developer. I wouldn't mind a black canvas on the sides or top/bottom, but I haven't found a way to do that en masse to get it not to crop out the rest.

How could I make the photos have a canvas of that ratio and the image be resized to fit the entire image within the ratio? (preferably for a folder or more at a time, not a photo at a time...I can do one at a time)

Thank you for any and all advice!
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-09-2009, 08:41 PM

Re: How to Print Family Photos of Differing Sizes