RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

Scanner selection and setup

Old 04-26-2009, 08:17 PM

Scanner selection and setup

Hi everyone

I'm a graduate student who will be scanning in old letters from WWI soldiers as part of a project. The soldier's message is of course the primary concern but the aging of the paper and penmanship creates another aspect to the collection. I'm new to this and would appreciate some pointers.

I'm using a MacBook Pro with a Canoscan N650U. Instead of downloading Canon's software, I have purchased VueScan and will be working in Photoshop CS2. TIFF images will be archived to DVD and possibly converted to jpeg for web publishing.

I'm a few dozen pages in and I'm pleased so far. Have started reading RTP and love the site. My N650U is rated at 1200dpi and I wish to scan at half of that. 42 bit color seems overkill for my needs. But this is a $30 scanner. By paying 10X that for a quality scanner, what would I be gaining?

I've been reading about color correction, white balance and targets. I compare the document to the image on the screen. It's a nice, crisp image but the colors aren't close at all. Is it the laptops monitor that is failing to represent the scanned image or do I need to tweak Vuescan somehow? Many posters advise to upgrade your drivers before you do anything else. I'm not sure how you do that. It appears that VueScan has the "driver" built in.

Would appreciate some guidance to get me on track. Thanks very much.

g@46
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-26-2009, 09:51 PM

Re: Scanner selection and setup

Grammaat46,
Welcome to RetouchPro !