RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

Backing up your images

Old 09-25-2009, 08:57 AM

Backing up your images

I was wondering what people do to backup their images. I find that I line to have my images at my finger tips at all times. I am not a professional so I don't have lots and lots of projects to store but have collected over 30,000 images of the past several years. These are all, or at least most, in Lightroom and keyworded. I find that I Synchronize, as opposed to backup, my internal drive with an external drive. This way if I need to get to a image that has a problem or is missing for whatever reason on my internal, i don't have to RESTORE the image, I just have a duplicate of it.

I am sure there are lots of practices out there, I just wanted to explore some other options.

Many thanks,
Houston
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-25-2009, 11:06 AM

Re: Backing up your images

hi,
Myself I am a firm believer in duplicate backups of important stuff!

the external hard drive the primary backup drive... but for very important
files, i use gold cd or dvd's just in case the hard drive fails .

and i never use flash drives for long term backup... there not that reliable..

Quote:
Originally Posted by htown View Post