RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

Using Raw formats

Old 04-29-2011, 09:30 AM

Using Raw formats

Hello. I am a novice to Digital Photography and recently purchased a Nikon D3100. I do have a knowledge of Photoshop and currently using CS5 & CS4. I am trying to get the hang of using RAW format. I have been reading about it but I keep getting confused. So far it makes sense to me to use RAW but with the many formats it seems confusing to me. My main confusion is do you actually work in RAW in Photoshop? I ask because it seems to make sense to convert your proprietary RAW formats (NEF) to Adobe's digital negative (DNG), but I find it odd that you cannot save to DNG when doing a "save as" but only to Photoshop RAW. But you cannot view your images in Photoshop RAW in Bridge. So, do you then just proceed to save in PSD? If someone can steer me in the right directions I sure would appreciate it. Thanks
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2011, 10:25 AM
Patron

Re: Using Raw formats

As you are obviously aware your Nikon D3100 is capable of capturing images in either RAW or jpeg or possibly both formats. If you forget about lossy and lossless RAW compression with Nikon then there is only one format - Nikons version of RAW which they name NEF. Other camera manufacturers produce their own versions for instance Canon call theirs CRW or CR2. Simplistically these RAW formats are all actually Tiffs with embed tags and fields specific to the camera manufacturer.