RetouchPRO

RetouchPRO (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/)
-   Input/Output/Workflow (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/input-output-workflow/)
-   -   best calibration for monitor when editing for web (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/input-output-workflow/33544-best-calibration-monitor-when-editing-web.html)

nadaman 06-21-2011 10:53 AM

best calibration for monitor when editing for web

Hi folks, I have to edit a bunch of images that will be displayed on the web only.
What is the best white point and luminance settings to calibrate my monitor to?
Presume 2.2 gamma.

Equipment: iMac, Lacie 324 monitor with Blue Eye calibration, & CS4. Although I'm far from being an expert, I do have a reasonable understanding of color management.

I've been doing some research on this one and here's what I've found:
Use CS4's Save for Web to remove profile, as untagged sRGB is best color space for all browsers in general.
Gary Ballard visually explains things quite well as to the reasons.
The link below is to his Web Browser Color Management Tutorial.

http://www.gballard.net/psd/go_live_...Gprofiles.html
Quote:

If you are on a Mac, I highly recommend you re-calibrate your monitor to 2.2 monitor gamma, D65 6500.
And this is another link from Gary's page.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2026?viewlocale=en_US
Quote:

Unless you have a color management expert instructing you otherwise, select a 2.2 gamma and a D65 white point.
Why D65 over D50?
Well, the D50 white point was all the rage among pre-press professionals 10 years ago, and you'd even find talk of D50 in advertising materials. Not so much anymore. D50 comes from a time when the dominant method of photo processing still involved paper, light tables, and viewing lamps. Now the emphasis on digital editing and Internet publishing makes the D65 native white point of modern displays a dominant factor.