RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

Blues appearing magenta

Old 10-19-2016, 11:08 PM

Blues appearing magenta

Hey guys! I've been calibrating my monitor for the last year and a half with a X-Rite i1Display Pro. Usually, I achieve a pretty good ∆E of 0.61 on average. I use two monitors; one is an older EIZO ColorEdge CE240W. The other one is a cheaper ASUS –*don't have the model.

I noticed that both monitors have a problem with perceiving subtle blues as magenta.

For instance, I'm a photographer as well, and I use Capture One Pro 9 for most of my pre-edit stuff. When using their color wheel, when I bring the shadows into the blue area, the shadows tend to appear more magenta than purple.

My usual settings are:
120cd/m^2
native contrast
d65 white point.

I usually keep my light on while calibrating. I've tried calibrating with the light both on and off with no result.

The problem is duplicated across both displays.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-19-2016, 11:33 PM

Re: Blues appearing magenta

How many hours does the 240W have on it? If it's something insane, it might just be wearing out. 0.61 means its perfect according to the device for that particular measurement. It's not that meaningful on its own.

I don't know what you mean by more magenta than purple. At a high level, you get magenta by reducing green. The ratio of blue to red with constant green will impact this.

This sounds typical for an incorrect monitor profile assigned.