RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

Color Cast in print but not on screen

Old 09-29-2004, 09:40 PM

Color Cast in print but not on screen

Hello, Just found this site and I'm amazed at the level of expertise from what I've read so far. I have a question that I've been trying to figure out and I'm sure someone here can help. I've been playing with PhotoShop for a few years, doing a few restorations for friends and family. I've finally started my own restoration site and trying to make a little extra cash. I have a friend that has a photo that was printed from a studio that is water damaged, the studio is now out of business so I told him that I'd fix the photo, wouldn't be a problem. I restored the photo and it looked fine on screen, but when I printed it out, it had a pink color cast. I'll like to know what causes this and is there any way to remove a color cast on a studio print that you can't see on screen.
Thanks,
VinniesWorld
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-29-2004, 10:14 PM

Sounds to me like a color profile issue. I don't mean to leave you hanging, but there are many threads here about it, so no sense in me rewriting.
Things to check for:
Your monitor is calibrated.
Photoshop has the correct settings in the "color settings" section.
Your output profiles are set for the media and printer you are using, and you are converting your image to that profile before you print.

Could also be that you may need to do a nozzle check on your printer. (It's recommended to use your printer at least once a week to keep nozzles clear. )
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-30-2004, 09:09 AM

Smile