Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Input/Output/Workflow
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Input/Output/Workflow Scanning, printing, color management, and discussing best practices for control and repeatability

Scanning negatives...need help!

Old 12-30-2004, 08:30 AM
Scanning negatives...need help!

I was doing a search for scanning negatives and found this site--so excited, as I am a begginning portrait photographer and love PS. I still shoot film and have been getting my images scanned onto Cd's at time of development. They scan about a 20 MB file, 8x10 at 300dpi. I just bought an Epson Perfection 4180. It has capabilities to scan negatives up to 4800x9600. When scanning some old negatives that have already been printed and comparing on screen, printed out, and the print from the lab my colors are very inconsistent! I was hoping this would be easy, but as I am finiding out there is a lot that goes into scanning negs. The other problem I am having is that when scanning C-41 B&W negs it is leaving the orange mask. I have the settings correcto n the software, but to get a b&W scan I have to go in and desaturate the image--I shouldn't have to do that, should I? If somebody could please help it would be greatly appreciated. My main concern is that I am learning and I usually don't get prints made at developing, but if my scans aren't a true representation of my negs I won't be able to learn about what I am doing right and wrong on exposure. I hope this is making since. Please help!
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-30-2004, 10:37 AM
Hi Heather

C41 B/W uses color negative chemistry so shouldn't you be scanning as a color negative?
Also, it's hard to address the difference you are seeing between an existing print and the scan. Your monitor may need calibrating or maybe it's just the difference in looking at 2 different light sources.

Reply With Quote top
Old 12-30-2004, 01:13 PM