RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Legal Issues
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Legal Issues Copyright, releases, likeness rights, licenses, etc.
NOT a replacement for professional council

Rights of owner of object photographed

Old 08-30-2008, 07:02 AM

Rights of owner of object photographed

A photographer has taken pictures of my boat which he sells.

As the owner of the boat (the only thing in the photo apart from the sea), do I have any rights at all?

E.g.
1) to use the photographs for my own use

2) to put them on my web site

3) to link to them from my web site
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-30-2008, 07:59 AM

Re: Rights of owner of object photographed

Hi, Michael! Welcome to RTP!

I'm not a lawyer, but my first gut reaction to your question is:

1: NO, the photos belong to the photographer
2: MAYBE: You would need the photographer's permission or at least give him photo credit.
3: YES

I'm operating on a premise that if I stand on a public street and take pictures of cars going by, the owners of those cars do not have any rights to the photos. Or if I stopped my car on a country road and took photos of a farmer's cows, he cannot claim any kind of ownership or rights to the pictures.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-30-2008, 01:16 PM

I am not a lawyer either, but I am a photographer and what I have read about property rights is confusing. It seems that the more the property is identifiable with its owner (i.e. people can tell that it's your boat, as opposed to a generic "boat") the more rights you have as the owner and that the photographer would be responsible for asking YOU to sign a release form. There's a photo attorney blog out there you should google for more info.

Have you contacted the photographer? I would think that it would be common courtesy for the photographer to allow you any and all uses that do not infringe upon his/her marketing of the prints.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-30-2008, 01:51 PM
Janitor