RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Business > Legal Issues
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Legal Issues Copyright, releases, likeness rights, licenses, etc.
NOT a replacement for professional council

Copy Cat

Old 06-17-2009, 07:26 AM

Copy Cat

What if i like and image and i find a similar model, use same make up, styling, pose, lighting, etc etc.
Then post it in my website as my own.

Is that Legal?

xx
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-17-2009, 01:25 PM
Patron

Re: Copy Cat

Godmother, since you are using your own lighting and different model, in my opinion you are emulating another photographer's work but not copying the original work. I would think that you are not violating a copyright. However, I am not a legal expert so some other member may wish to comment.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-17-2009, 03:11 PM

It's not a copyright violation, but it is being a copy cat, as you said. Why settle for being a mimic?

Attempting to copy an image is a really great thing for learning purposes. It teaches you to think more critically and exposes weaknesses in your technique and provides you with a broader base of experience to draw from. But I think to mimic another photographer's shot for the purposes of promoting yourself is a bit dishonest. You aren't showcasing your own talents, merely your ability to imitate the talent of others.

So go and copy the photograph, learn what you can from it, then go shoot something better to put on your website.

Cheers,
Michael
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-26-2009, 07:06 AM

So to get this right... It's not ilegal? If I have on my website a pic that looks EXACTLY the same as another photographer's published picture... I'm not braking the law? I can't get sued? Something like ... "likeness"??
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-26-2009, 07:29 AM

Hello Godmother;