RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Non-RetouchPRO Resources
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Non-RetouchPRO Resources Books, courses, other websites. Discussion of anything to do with learning outside of RP.

What academic degree is pertinent to retouching?

Old 09-13-2005, 02:25 PM

What academic degree is pertinent to retouching?

Hi Guys. I'm new to this forum. I'm so grateful i found a place where i can get great advice from professionals like you. Here's my story..

i graduated with a sociology degree about 7 years ago, never pursued it after i got out of school. i got a job retouching jewelry instead and continued to do so part time. i've been training myself ever since through books. I've been having trouble finding full-time work. i want a stable job at an office. since i'm not a professional retoucher, It doesn't have to be 100% retouching work, as long as i get to use photoshop, I'll be happy with any kind of production work. sometimes i wonder if it's because i don't have an art degree and maybe i should consider going back to school again. but i'm not sure which field to get into that pertains using photoshop. everytime i look at ads, i feel under-qualified. they ask for things like, pre-press, beauty retouching, must know how to work on facial tones, etc.. and all kinds of stuff i feel i lack. i do have an online porfolio, but i'm not getting any responses. and people i know personally are impressed with my work, even though i know there are far better professionals out there, especially people on this forum! i'm so impressed. but at the same time, i feel discouraged with myself.

my conclusion is this:

a. go back to school and get some art degree
b. i'm not sending my resume out in the right places and i should look more thoroughly instead of relying on the new york times and monster.com and hotjobs.