RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Non-RetouchPRO Resources
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Non-RetouchPRO Resources Books, courses, other websites. Discussion of anything to do with learning outside of RP.

newb needs help on elements books

Old 01-04-2005, 10:52 PM

Question newb needs help on elements books

i am a newbie and just bought canon 300d. i have elements 2 which came with the camera. i am wondering if i should buy lynch's book- elements 3 since it may not be that much different than 2 so that if i later upgrade to 3 i am ahead. in addition, should i acquire eismann's-Photoshop restoration and retouching? i am a complete beginner and the way i learn is by example-i don't know whether it is possible that these books would come with a cd which showed you exactly how to manipulate photos. just reading the manuals is almost as much fun as reading the nyc telephone book. need suggestions from those who know. thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-05-2005, 12:43 AM

Hi and welcome to RP. I can't answer your questions about Elements 3 and the books but I can definitely recommend you work on some of the tutorials here. Choose one, download the pictures and work step by step. Then try reproducing some of the other things people have done.

Others will recommend other sites for tutorials as well. They can also answer your questions. I've been using Elements 2 for a little over a year and have become fairly proficient with the simple tools and functions. I'm finally exploring layers and masks and getting some sense from them. Hands on is the only way to learn and this is the place to see the whole range of possibilities.

MaryLynn
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-05-2005, 01:55 AM

Katrin Eismann's book doesn't come with a CD, but it does come with a Website