RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art > Photo-Art 101
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Art 101 This forum is a place for those new to photo-based art to ask questions and post their creations. Seasoned veterans are welcome to offer advice or assistance, but we ask that images posted be from members with less than 6-months experience.

New to Photo Impressionism - Please Critique

Old 06-09-2007, 12:09 AM

Smile New to Photo Impressionism - Please Critique

Hi,

I just found this list and the wealth of information that it offers. I've been experimenting with photo impressionism techniques for a few months and would appreciate your comments regarding this latest sample "photo painting".

This is all done with Photoshop CS2. I've also included the source image. My interest is in small garden scenes and landscapes, as opposed to portraits.

Thanks for all of your input. I hope to get a lot from this group (and hopefully contribute some ideas as I get more experienced, too.)

Please note, I've scaled down the images to reduce file size and increase performance when previewing. The final painted image and the source image can be found here:
http://www.realscenery.com/paintings/source.jpg
http://www.realscenery.com/paintings/EnglishGarden.jpg

I look forward to your opinions

Thanks!

Eric
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-09-2007, 07:31 AM

Re: New to Photo Impressionism - Please Critique

Welcome Eric,
I love gardening.
I think you painting has good composition, and the paiting is good. But to me the green is too bright green.
Did you do anything to the photo before painting?
Cathy
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-09-2007, 08:08 AM

Welcome Eric

i really like your painting ( and superb photo ) i agree with CathyH that the green is a bit to vivid for a lot of peoples choice, me I like it

Palms
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-09-2007, 09:42 AM