RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art > Photo-Art 101
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Art 101 This forum is a place for those new to photo-based art to ask questions and post their creations. Seasoned veterans are welcome to offer advice or assistance, but we ask that images posted be from members with less than 6-months experience.

Q: Cloning & background

Old 03-02-2003, 08:23 AM

Unhappy Cloning & background

I have been using my digital camera for 6 months and working with a very old paint shop version. I just downloaded a newer version for a tryout - but think I will go with photoshop. Anyway, I am a newbie and I know how to clone but it leaves much to be desired. How do you all get that selected area in another photo without it looking like it has been copied. Mine always has parts of the remaining photo in it. Yes, I can smooth it in but it never looks right. Maybe there is a article I can read if someone can point me in that direction. And, I don't understand Mask and layers. Thanks for any information. Jean
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-02-2003, 05:08 PM

Hi Jean. I'm not sure I understand your question. Are you talking about selecting and copying a person or background from one picture to another and it doesn't blend in right??? Or are you using the clone tool within an area on one picture and it's not working right?

Can you post a picture to show us the problem you are having?
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-02-2003, 07:38 PM

Cloning

Andrew, I am having trouble with both. I take lots of pictures of shelter animals and put them on Petfinders - I would like to give them a nice looking background instead of the cages they are in - that is my main problem. Here is a picture I would like to replace the background - and I can't get him out looking professional. Thanks for helping.