RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art > Photo-Art Resources
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Art Resources Photo manipulation/digital art tutorials, books, plugins, software, cool websites, etc., and info on the Impressionist plugin: troubleshooting, custom settings, tips & tricks, etc.

Cezanne's Peach Exploded

Old 01-02-2004, 07:05 PM

Cezanne's Peach Exploded

After trying reallu really hard to get a Cezanne effect for this still life that was posted in a Photo-Art Challenge, I had only come mildly close to the right effect. So I started playing with it and I:

1. BLEW the fruit up, using Flaming Pear's SWERVE filter
2. Cut off the green exploded pear out and concentrated on the peach bits, putting the biggest chunk in the left third of the picture.

3. Then I added PSP8 Colored Edges (black)

4. Softened it a tad, and added my ever present carpet texture. Nothing looks finished to me unless it has the carpet texture. (I'll grow out of that eventually.)

It doesn't look a bit Cezanney, but if you tell people the "work" is called exploded peach, they would say, Oh Yeah....

Some nut would buy it if I made a 45" giclee out of it, and he had a huge wall he needed covering, and I charged only $9.98 for it.

Original first
Attached Images
File Type: jpg originalpeachimage.jpg (52.3 KB, 118 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-02-2004, 07:08 PM

Exploded Peach Result

Here's the result. Can any of you make a different abstract from the still life??

AmyHutton
Attached Images
File Type: jpg explodedpeach.jpg (84.9 KB, 93 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-03-2004, 12:17 AM

Amy:

Really appreciate you diving into the pool with this one. I don't do abstract often (intentionally, anyway - haha), so here's a stab at something abstract -- abstract for me anyway! It is based on Jasc Virtual Painter effects Watercolor and Drawing.