RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

My very first attempt

Old 11-24-2005, 01:31 AM

My very first attempt

I've been playing around a bit, but this is my first attempt at photo-based art for a purpose. I'd appreciate any comments. (Is this more appropriate in the critique forum or the photo-based art forum?)

Anyway, the picture is of a little girl in Thailand who my brother is adopting. She won't be here for a while, and the best photo we have is a 640x480 blurry photo from a point and shoot. I'm trying to make something out of it. Comments? If anyone is interested I'd be happy to explain the technique.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bootsie-oil-sm.jpg (71.7 KB, 55 views)
File Type: jpg bootsie-original-sm.jpg (73.9 KB, 58 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-24-2005, 02:48 PM

Your efforts are quite nice. I would (IMHO only) add just a little more detail to her face. Everything else looks nice to me. The nice thing about art is that is so subjective. If you like it, then hey, go with the flow. In any case, keep up the good work.

I hope you don't mind that I took a shot at artifying this beautiful child. She is just too precious to resist.

I hope that she can become a part of your brother's family very soon.

Janet
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bootsie-original-sm.jpg (94.5 KB, 38 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-25-2005, 04:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb_seattle
...Anyway, the picture is of a little girl in Thailand who my brother is adopting. ... Comments? If anyone is interested I'd be happy to explain the technique.
JB -- Welcome to RetouchPro! Lovely little girl -- what steps did you take in your photo art? What program(s) did you use? I believe that you succeeded in making her face the most important element in the image by changing the background.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-25-2005, 05:03 PM