Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

Any Ideas ?

Old 12-09-2005, 11:00 PM
Any Ideas ?

Does anyone have any ideas on how to make this photo have an "artsy" look.
I tried different filters but can't seem to get it. The original photo hasn't very good quality to start with. I was liking "poster edge" but it gives him a some weird skin tones. This is my first attempt to attach an image and ask for help, so I apoligize in advance if I don't get it right. Thanks. swood.

P.S. janet is my PS guru. Where are you, janet.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Tanner001.jpg (98.9 KB, 162 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-09-2005, 11:12 PM

welcome to RP!

the attachment is fine.

the first tip i would give anyone on wanting to do 'something artsy' with a photo is, fix the photo first, then do the art part. now, i'm not trying to be a smart-ass here, so please dont take it that way so, in the case of your picture i would brighten it up a bit, add some contrast and do any touch up work that might need doing. it's a good photo of a great looking kid and worthy of 'something artsy', but it just works better as 'art' if it starts out as a great photo of a great kid.

then, when that part is done, take a look at the photo art section of the forum. there are tons of tips, tricks and processes you can take a look at. you might want to even post your picture there and let others take a shot at it too. sharing something like this has a tendency to reap unexpected rewards if in nothing more than inspiration of your own.

Reply With Quote top
Old 12-10-2005, 01:24 AM
This would go nice under the photo art. Maybe someone can move it for you so it will be seen more. I did this quickly with poster edges, diffuse, noise removal, color picker, soft paint brush, and the smudge brush. Such a cute kid I had to try something.
Attached Images