RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

golden retriever smudge - how'd i do

Old 06-29-2006, 02:52 PM

golden retriever smudge - how'd i do

so far, i've smudged a couple of flowers which were just okay -- this is my first attempt at a dog. how'd i do?

this was done for a friend of mine -- she has an LCD screen and on it, she said the smudge looks very blurry -- but on my screen it looks okay -- is it her screen?

i've attached the original and my "smudge" version -- feel free to play with the original -- i'd love to see what others can do with it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg puck100orig.jpg (97.0 KB, 104 views)
File Type: jpg puck100.jpg (95.4 KB, 144 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-29-2006, 08:31 PM

Yea I like your interpritation, and I think a smudge is supposed to be slightly blurred, to me that's the idea, isn't it? Here's my humble effort (yea, it's my first try with anything other than flowers) hope you like it....John
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dog.jpg (99.8 KB, 84 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-29-2006, 08:53 PM
Patron

The GREYCstoration solution.

So easy; 90% filter (this case was over 96% filter; furry animals really lend themselves to this technique). Here's and outline.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg puck100orig.jpg (99.7 KB, 82 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-30-2006, 03:28 AM

britsdad, that is awesome for your first animal smudge -- keep up the great work! how did you get that so perfect?

ikroll -- another great version! and i have read the link you posted and will give that a try.

i will be going back to the drawing board after seeing your versions -- i need a lot more work without a doubt.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-30-2006, 03:38 AM