RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

Portraits

Old 05-12-2007, 11:54 AM

Portraits

Hope I can express my question in a manner you can understand.
When doing a portrait in my paint program (gertrudis at the time) I am finding that I am maybe not adding enough texture etc. in the face area for fear of losing detail. The body of my work looks OK and like a painting but sometimes it looks like a photo of a head sitting on a rougher painting. Hope I am making this clear. It always seems to print a little clearer then what it looks like also so the final print ens up looking like I described above.(photo sitting on a painting.) I'm still new at this and will keep trying but just needed some influence and suggestions on this matter. I have included a photo/portrait (before and after)that I have done of my neice from several years ago. Pleased with the results but I still question if I could have gone a little more for the paint look in the face. I printed this out in 8X10 format and but maybe if I went larger it might look more like I want it too. Thanks for all you do here to make this an educational stop as well as a great forum for entertainment too.

bcarll
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dan009-copyweb.jpg (76.0 KB, 55 views)
File Type: jpg jewel2web.jpg (88.6 KB, 71 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2007, 07:06 AM

Re: Portraits

Bcarll
I would agree that you need to add some brush strokes to the face/head. And in my opion I wouldn't add the canvas texture to the painting but I would have it printed on a canvas.
I like the clothes.
Cathy
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2007, 09:06 AM

bcarll