RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

How i can improve this logo?

Old 01-04-2008, 06:46 AM

How i can improve this logo?

Hi, I'm new here, and to Photoshop (been given access to it through work)

I have an image i've been working on for a department logo and wondering if this was the right place to gain honest feedback on how i could improve aspects of it. I have attached a jpg copy though unsure of sizing.

I developed the glass marbles from a tutorial i found, but i am concerned about the words and glassy feel to the marbles.

Any advice would be great.

Please redirect thread if necessary as total newbie.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg logo-v2.jpg (90.0 KB, 120 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-04-2008, 10:27 AM

Re: General Feedback of how i can improve

Hey Samuel. The marbles look pretty cute, so that may be a concern - you may want to go with less vivid colors to get rid of the "cute factor"... but I would suggest reworking the whole logo if this is going to be printed on letterhead, and business cards or anything along those lines.

If not, just adjust your colors, and the font on the "Business & Market Information" section - you can barely read that, and it's the key element. Just minimal detail remarks - the shadow extends past the key on "Market" and the information marble isn't out of focus enough. Also, the "insight" should be more out of focus - I realize this sounds counter-intuitive to the meaning of the sign, but sometimes if you have to struggle to read a element or two it means your interest is locked into the logo longer, which in turn could make it more memorable.

Just don't try that trick with key elements
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-04-2008, 10:55 AM

Samuel, I've been in the "logo" business for over 30 years, so take what I say for what that is worth.