RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

What is giclee printing?

Old 02-13-2008, 04:57 PM

What is giclee printing?

Is giclee just another name for printing on canvas or is it a special paper or procedure? If it is different then I need to go to an authorized giclee dealer/process?

Most print rooms that I use print on gloss, matte, metallic and luster finish. Are there other labs that use other specialize papers?

Last edited by DannyRaphael; 02-13-2008 at 05:13 PM. Reason: created new thread for this topic
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-13-2008, 05:21 PM

Re: What is giclee printing?

I have no direct experience with this, but have read about it.

Here's a good overview:
http://painting.about.com/cs/printin...lceeprints.htm

p.2 goes into print specific information.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-13-2008, 05:21 PM

if i'm not mistaken, 1 thing i think they're known for is printing without a dot, unlike your average inkjet.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-13-2008, 05:45 PM

Giclee in the digital age, usually refers to printing on canvas. Not so much your local home grown ink jet that may accept canvas media, but on large format printers (the kind that stand on the floor and print from large rolls of canvas and use bulk ink). Often used to reproduce fine art up to about 90 inches (may be larger these days or for different printers, but I'm thinking of an Epson printer used by a friend of mine) as the maximum of the shortest side.)

The last piece I had done in giclee cost me about $80 and was roughly 40 x 28 inches. Most houses that offer the service add an additional two inches all around for stretching the canvas over frames.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-13-2008, 06:04 PM