RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

Fathers Day gift from soldier...PLEASE HELP!!

Old 02-24-2008, 08:10 PM

Fathers Day gift from soldier...PLEASE HELP!!

Hello, My name is Michael Oliver. I am currently enlisted in the United States Navy and will be suprising my father and mother with a unexpected return. I would like to give them a gift. A while back, I had a picture that was turned into an acctual hand painting. It was done quite well and my parents LOVED it!... It was very simple. Kinda like the cutout filter in Photoshop, however it had a little more etail that just made it PERFECT for a painting on canvas. Anyway, I would like to paint something for them. I am a fairly experienced painter (I have lots of paints and brushes). If anyone has ANY suggestions at all please let me know. Thank you for your help.

Michael Oliver
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-24-2008, 11:53 PM

Question Re: Fathers Day gift from soldier...PLEASE HELP!!

I'm really curious -- what is a soldier doing in the navy?
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-24-2008, 11:58 PM

Re: Fathers Day gift from soldier...PLEASE HELP!!

Well let me rephrase "...from SAILOR..."
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-25-2008, 12:42 AM

Hi Michael:

First of all, a sincere thanks for your service. It is greatly appreciated. Congrats on your trip home. I can sense your enthusiasm in wanting to surprise your mom and dad.

It's not clear to me what kind of help you're looking for... Are you looking for assistance on reproducing the similar-to-cutout look you mentioned? Are you wanting to literally paint the final result or craft it digitally using Photoshop or what?

Tell us more about where you're stuck. I assure you there will be many who will be eager to help.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-25-2008, 01:00 AM