RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

First Post - First Attempt at Smudge Painting

Old 04-26-2009, 05:03 PM

First Post - First Attempt at Smudge Painting

This is my very first attempt at smudge painting. I was trying to get a painted look for my son's portrait. I used Corel Paint Shop Pro X2. I really had a good time doing this. I would love some honest critique. I really don't have a clue to how to work on the eyes - especially the eyelashes. I tried to download Linda's brushes and Sara's brushes, but my program would not accept them. Does anyone know where I can download brushes that are compatible with paint shop pro x2??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg evanoriginal2.jpg (64.1 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg evanpainting2.jpg (84.9 KB, 85 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-27-2009, 03:47 AM

Re: First Post - First Attempt at Smudge Painting

Welcome Graham

well done for your first smudge, it does have a painted feel to it

now the bad part

Open your image up again and zoom, you will see the parts where you have not smudged ( believe me we all do that it is always worth going over your smudge again after you think it is finished and checking) not only does this make the image look better still, but it helps with any sharpening that you do,
Yes the eyes need some work but i think they are the hardest part and struggle with them as well

again you have done great i know it is harder to smudge in psp but stick at it.
in case you havent seen this post there are some tips there

and for converting brushes take a look at this although as i havent tried it i cant say if it works or not

Palms
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-27-2009, 03:02 PM