RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

Tutorial: Trimoon, How I do my digital art

Old 09-06-2002, 05:41 PM

Tutorial: Trimoon, How I do my digital art

I’ve been struggling for several days to put together a tutorial on how to do my digital art. I’m like a lot of you who like to sit down and try different things. That is kind of what I’ve always done. I’ve been working with Photoshop for many years now – ever since version 3 came out. I know through experience what tools do what and, to some extent, the variations that can be applied through these tools. I can’t really put together a tutorial as I wanted. I don’t have the time just now because of work and other things, but I do get great enjoyment out of sitting down and taking a photograph and seeing where it will go. I thought I would tell you what tools I use and what these tools can do and not concentrate on any one group of techniques.

First of all, you have to evaluate the image. Not all images qualify. However, a lot of bad images do, as long as the dpi is there. This is to say that, if you have enough image, either you have the dpi or the size to work with. What I mean is a one-to-one size. If the image is going to be 18x24, then the dpi is not as important if the image is already sized at 18x24. Once you’ve picked out your image, decide on whether you are going to keep the background or not. Most of the time I’ll remove people and critters out of a background if it’s too cluttered and will interfere. I won’t get into telling you how to remove it since most of you already know how to use the extract tool.