RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

Misc: What's funny about Photo-art...

Old 09-09-2002, 04:58 PM

Wink Misc: What's funny about Photo-art...

I was thinking about photo-based art the other day and how, as a traditional artist, my style was to make a drawing or painting look as realistic as possible - like a photo, and now digitally so many people, including myself, strive to create art from photos. That just struck me as interesting.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-12-2002, 12:19 PM

C...

Your observation falls into the same ballbark as those who apply techniques and/or filters to recently taken photos in order to make them look like they've been in a steamer trunk in the attic for the past 50 years.

Go figure!
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-13-2002, 11:58 AM

Oh that's so funny. You're not the only one who's thought the same way. I took up airbrushing because I like how you could get a more realistic looking image than with bristle brush. Now, I'm trying to make photos look painted as well. And Danny is right too on how we now strive to make photos look old and tattered. What's the matter with us?
DJ
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-13-2002, 09:58 PM

Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
A woman has the right to change her mind. But I'm not sure about a man.

Ed
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-14-2002, 01:37 PM

I recall seeing a tv show (TLC channel?) about the history of the printing press. It said that the Italic typestyle was one of the first ones used, because it represented the printed hand strokes well.

The lesson was that any newly introduced technology is first used to simulate the technology it is to replace or improve upon. Maybe this applies here? Bob
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-14-2002, 01:48 PM