RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo-Based Art
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo-Based Art Emulating natural-media painting techniques

Photoshop Art History Brush Questions

Old 11-01-2002, 10:40 AM

Photoshop Art History Brush Questions

After the previous excellent art history brush tutorial, I started playing with this for the first time and subsequently have a few questions for the experts.
1. The art history brush doesn't seem to want to let me paint over the entire image, but seems to arbitrarily mask out areas. Is there some control or threshold I over this I'm missing?
2. Is it possible to automatically apply strokes to an area (like Painter?)
3. Is it possible to stroke a selection or path?
4. What is your preferred art history brush for mimicking a long brush stroke? Despite fiddling with the controls, the art history brush "long" stroke looks more like a sqiggly worm; not quite as naturalistic as a brush stroke.
5. Is it possible to define new variants ie (medium loose; short & curl)
6. Does anyone know how to effectively use the dual-brush option with this? This seems to be an intriguing approach, but not used by many folks.

Thanks for any help/advice you have

John
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-01-2002, 04:38 PM

Hi John:

Full disclosure: I've used the Art History Brush maybe a dozon or so times, so don't confuse me by any stretch as exceptionally knowledgeable with this tool.

Given the above here's a swipe at your questions based on what I know (or at least believe)... Perhaps we'll get a few more willing to take a bite at the apple later on.

...A few questions... :
1. The art history brush doesn't seem to want to let me paint over the entire image, but seems to arbitrarily mask out areas. Is there some control or threshold I over this I'm missing?