Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Compositing
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Compositing Collage, montage, masking, selections, combining, etc.

Trying to create mask

Old 10-05-2005, 03:42 PM
Question Trying to create mask

I know I'm just a beginner, but I think of myself as highly evolved and able to follow directions. I've been watching and reading several masking tutorials all day and can't get this little guy (now 58) fully selected so I can change the damaged background. This photo was pasted down in an album and then taken out, so the blotches are paste and paper from the other side. I think it's just easier to change the background altogether than try and clean it up (plus I'll learn something new). I was led to a tutorial by Russell Brown from someone on this site helping someone else. He suggests using channels. I also looked at tutorials on masking from (channels also). I get the jist of things I think, but the upper left corner of the background on my photo seems to be the same color as parts of the boy's face. No one channel has all that much distinct contrast. I used the Create New Fill or Adjustment Layer as instructed. If I try to make the subject go black, I get the left corner of the background. If I try and make the background go white I lose a whole lot of the boy. I don't want to use the magnetic lasso because it looked awful and I really tried to be careful. I thought I had a strategy for this when I started this morning, but obviously I need a contingency plan. Please help. Oh, and remember, I'm a beginner so if you'd be so kind as to talk to me like a toddler I might be able to follow along. Thanks for all help and suggestions ahead of time. If you need more info let me know.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg boycoat.jpg (96.2 KB, 38 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-05-2005, 09:36 PM