RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Compositing
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Compositing Collage, montage, masking, selections, combining, etc.

Snowboard Picture/ Selecting Snow

Old 01-04-2006, 03:04 PM

Snowboard Picture/ Selecting Snow

Hello All,

i am the new one I am a digital Hobby Photographer and a student who is trying to improve his photoshop skills over "the normal level"
I normally dont do sports photography so this is not my shoot. This picture was posted in a photoforum for criticising it. I did so and thought i could do a little correction. 5 Minutes later i had this one, but with a big problem...the snow behind the boarder.

I started this one by copying the background layer twice and setting the blendmode to multiply. After that another copy and blendmode set to softlight.
This darkens the image and gives the sky some blue...i masked the rest of the picture.
The Problem is that i do not find a proper method to select the snow behind the boarder so that i can add it to the mask. Thats the reason why its so blue (its multiplied twice and softlighted) All i tried is not looking real, because the sky is shinning through the snow.

May you could help me here? How could is select the snow, so that i just have the snow and not the areas around it.
Maybe another method to colorize it white?

Here are the Pics:

Original

My Edit

My layers palette

Thank you very much!
Alex
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-04-2006, 04:37 PM

tos5,

wecome to RP

the problem isnt a problem of color. the problem is one of luminosity...brightness. start over with the original and try 'curves' or 'levels'. use them as adjustment layers, not from the menu directly onto the layer. this will allow you to set and adjust the various steps in the ranges of the luminiosity such that you can make the snow one brightness and the sky another and get that contrast between the two you want.