RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Compositing
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Compositing Collage, montage, masking, selections, combining, etc.

Moving selections to a new background

Old 05-05-2006, 12:09 PM

Cool Moving selections to a new background

I am an amateur and use Photoshop for pictures for my family, friends, and relatives. My friends recently got married and I selected their picture from the church scene and moved them to another background. I like the background with them in it, but it looks like my friends are ‘floating’ to heaven.

I would appreciate any hints/tips for ‘grounding’ people when one moves them to another background.

Bernie
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sue&Tom3 JPG.jpg (99.9 KB, 81 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-05-2006, 12:35 PM

It would help if we could see the original. It looks like they were standing on different levels (perhaps steps?). If this is the case, you might be able to compensate for that difference in elevation with some flat garden rocks cloned from another picture? Or use the "floor" of the original.

I did this real fast, and it's not a "finished product", but I wanted to illustrate how it might be fixed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sue&Tom4-JPG.jpg (57.3 KB, 64 views)

Last edited by Swampy; 05-05-2006 at 12:48 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-05-2006, 12:51 PM

Lightbulb re

It is because of bad shadow. Make it stronger and left from he couple. See the sadow of flowers. Also give som more light to their boday and face!
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-05-2006, 05:59 PM

Thanks for the ideas. I like the idea of putting rocks or something else under their feet. I am not sure how to do the lighting.

I looked at the original. They are not on steps. Attached is the original.

Bernie
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sue&Tom3 -original.jpg (89.3 KB, 65 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-05-2006, 06:13 PM