RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Compositing
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Compositing Collage, montage, masking, selections, combining, etc.

Help needed - PSP 8 Masks

Old 07-24-2006, 07:59 PM

Help needed - PSP 8 Masks

Hi all - I am new to Retouch PRO and this is my first post so apologies if I am asking the wrong question in the wrong part of the forum !?
I am keen to improve my retouching skills and have progressed well in some areas and poorly in others.
Using PSP 8 at present - what I have - and cannot really figure out how to use Layer Masks effectively. I can duplicate / add an adjustment mask / split to HSL but it stops about there.
I have seen an excellent tutorial by Vikki Hansen on this forum with exactly what I am keen to learn but this was for Photoshop and I can't quite translate it into Paintshop 8.
I have a photo of a daughter on a very cold day with a typical 'red nose' and what I would like to do is
- duplicate layer and adjust colour of nose (clone or other technique)
- put a mask on top and...
- paint the nose area only so that it comes through in the layers

I have tried to locate a suitable tutorial by google search (where I found Retouch PRO!) but am yet to find any that simplify this workflow enough for me to follow it. The photo is a beauty except for the 'rudolph effect' as my daughter calls it.

Would be grateful for some clear advice on this or redirection to a suitable tutorial.

Thanks
richard57
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2006, 01:33 AM

Hi Richard,

I'm an Adobe Photoshop user so I wouldn't be too much help on how to do Photoshop things in PaintShopPro, but I did find a website that has a bunch of tutorials for PaintShopPro (including version 8).

You can find it here (the version 8 tutorials are further down the page).

Another great source for tutorials that you might try is Pixel2Life

Good Luck,

Kerry
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2006, 01:41 AM

Quote: