RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Compositing
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Compositing Collage, montage, masking, selections, combining, etc.

Combining (fading) one image into another: Can anyone tell me how...?

Old 10-04-2006, 04:19 PM

Combining (fading) one image into another: Can anyone tell me how...?

Hello everyone,

though I have been an artist for years I have never really used photo shop or what not. there is an image located in the french photofiltre website located
http://photofiltre.free.fr/galerie/img006_en.htm and I want to be able to accomplish something similar using my own photos and created art and graphics. I just dont know where to look for the hows and why's
I own mostly out dated versions

ps 5.5
psp 7.0
elements 2.0
photofiltre current version
and a few others. maybe someone can get me started looking in the right direction

Marcus
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-04-2006, 05:09 PM
Patron

Try a Layer Mask

On the bottom layer you would put a beach scene.

Add a layer on top of that and to that layer add the portrait photo.

To the portrait layer add a layer mask

Select default colors black and white

Use a gradient on the mask and have the gradient go from white where the portrait is to black over the right side of the photo.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mask.jpg (51.2 KB, 72 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-04-2006, 05:19 PM

Re: new, can anyone tell me how...?

I used Photoshop 7 to create this.

The following is a very quick example done to illustrate the technique used, not to be considered as a finished picture.
  • Open the 2 pictures you wish to use.
  • Copy and Paste one as a layer into the other picture.
  • Apply a layer mask to the upper layer (picture).
  • Click on mask to make it active, then use Gradient Tool to make a suitable mask.

I used a radial gradient in this picture, but vary the gradient to get the effect you wish for.